

## ECAS2019 Statistical Analysis for Space-Time Data

by Giovani Silva\* and Isabel Natário\*\*

From July 15 to 17, 2019, ECAS2019 on Statistical Analysis for Space-Time Data was held at the Faculty of Science of the University of Lisbon, organized by the Portuguese Statistical Society (SPE) and the Spanish Society of Statistics and Operational Research (SEIO).

\* Instituto Superior Técnico – Universidade de Lisboa

\*\* Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia – Universidade Nova de Lisboa



## Patrick Brown

Hävard Rue

Liliane Bel

Four excellent courses on *Spatiotemporal Data Analysis* were presented at this event by well-known international experts in the field. Ege Rukak discussed the methodology of *spatial point patterns* and their applications; Patrick Brown talked about statistical models and inference for *spatiotemporal area data*; Hävard Rue and Haakon Bakka presented *spatial and spatiotemporal models* using the *SPDE approach* in the INLA frame; Liliane Bel showed the new trends in *spatiotemporal geostatistics*. All courses were based on R software and area-specific packages.

The participants, *mostly PhD students*, were able to present their research in a pleasant poster session where, in a relaxed, convivial atmosphere, they exchanged ideas

and presented their work with other participants and lecturers.

A total of 61 participants attended, of which *26 were students*, exceeding expectations for the expected capacity of the event. About half of the participants were from Portugal, 6 came from Germany, 5 from Spain and the rest came from places as varied as Sweden, Italy, Belgium, France, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Mozambique, Canada, Colombia, Mexico and Australia.

It was an excellent opportunity to learn cutting-edge knowledge in this area of space-time Statistics and *networking*, provided by the many pleasant moments of pause prepared by the organization.



## **Organizing Committee**

Isabel Natário (President) Paulo Soares Soraia Pereira Tomás Goicoa Anabel Forte Giovani Silva.

## **Scientific Committee**

Giovani Silva (President) Raquel Menezes Maria Eduarda Silva María Dolores Ugarte Rubén Fernández Casal Ricardo Cao.